

## **Community Futures Peace Country Entrepreneurship Bursary**

Community Futures Peace Country is a community-driven, non-profit organization staffed by business professionals and guided by a volunteer Board of Directors, providing a wide range of small business services and business management tools for people wanting to start, expand, franchise or sell a business. CFPC also hosts several specialized business programs, organizes business events, and actively works with community and business leaders to foster rural economic growth.

This bursary provided by Community Futures Peace Country is open to grade 12 students who reside and intend to open a business within Community Futures Peace Country (CFPC) boundaries (see community listing below). One applicant will be selected from the entire CFPC boundaries. The successful applicant will receive a \$1000 bursary and one hour of business mentorship provided by Community Futures Peace Country. This bursary is designed to support entrepreneurial endeavors which in turn boosts community vitality and spirit.

## Criteria

- 1. Completed Business Plan template can be found at https://peacecountry.albertacf.com/resources
- 2. Support letter from your principal or teacher
- 3. Include a biography with a maximum of 700 words that includes the following:
  - Background and interests of applicant
  - Applicant's reasons for wanting to be an entrepreneur
  - Any work experience related to the applicant's business idea
  - Applicant's commitment to working and applying their knowledge in a rural northern setting
  - Any other information the applicant would like to share to help the selection committee come to a decision
  - Intended use of funds

## **CFPC Communities include:**

Bay Tree, Bear Canyon, Berwyn, Blueberry Mountain, Bluesky, Bonanza, Brownvale, Cadotte Lake, Calais, Carcajou, Cherry Point, Chinook Valley, Cleardale, Crooked Creek, Deadwood, DeBolt, Dixonville, Donnelly, Dunvegan, Eaglesham, Eureka River, Fairview, Falher, Girouxville, Gordondale, Grimshaw, Guy, Hines Creek, Hotchkiss, Jean Cote, Kathleen, Little Buffalo, Manning, Marie-Reine, McLennan, Nampa, North Star, Notikewin, Peace River, Reno, Rycroft, Silver Valley, Spirit River, St. Isidore, Tangent, Twin Lakes, Valleyview, Wanham, Watino, Whitelaw, Woking and Worsley.

## Applications are to be submitted to:

Email: sherry@albertacf.com Mail: Attention Sherry Crawford Community Futures Peace Country 9816-98 Avenue, Peace River, AB T8S 1J5

**Application deadline:** May 1, 2025 **Bursary amount:** \$1000