Kuester and Owens elected as Board Chair and Vice-Chair

Kuester and Owens elected as Board Chair and Vice-Chair

The Peace River School Division (PRSD) Board of Trustees held its organizational meeting on Thursday, June 25, 2020, where both Darren Kuester and Crystal Owens were elected for the roles as Board Chair and Vice-Chair respectively.

Darren Kuester, Ward three trustee, has served three terms on the board and seventh consecutive year as Board Chair.   

“Peace River School Division is an exceptional school division that is truly focused on ensuring the success of every student, and I am proud to be a part of such a dedicated team,” says Kuester.  “I am pleased to continue as Board Chair, and together with fellow trustees, I am dedicated to being a strong advocate for our students and proudly support all that public education represents.”

Crystal Owens, ward two trustee, is serving her third year on the board and first year as Vice-Chair.

“Our division provides students with an all-encompassing educational experience and continually evolves to meet the needs of students in our changing world,” says Owens.  “We are passionate about ensuring our students are provided with everything they need to reach their full potential, and I look forward to serving as Vice-Chair in the fall.”

PRSD extends gratitude to Delainah Velichka for her leadership and service as Vice-Chair.  Delainah served as Vice-Chair for three years and is currently serving her second term on the board. 

During the organizational meeting, trustees also determined committees they will represent, appointed trustee representation to external agencies and scheduled dates and times for regular board meetings for the 2020-2021 school year.

Regular board meetings are open to the public and will be held at our PRSD Central Operations building located at 4702-51 ST, Grimshaw, AB, commencing with the August 20, 2020, regular board meeting.  A complete list of meeting dates can be found on PRSD’s website under “Board of Trustees” and “Calendar.”