Grimshaw Public School’s Allison Ferguson selected as ASBA Zone 1 Edwin Parr First Year Teacher Award recipient

Grimshaw Public School’s Allison Ferguson selected as ASBA Zone 1 Edwin Parr First Year Teacher Award recipient

Ms. Allison FergusonMs. Allison Ferguson

For immediate release

September 13, 2018- Congratulations to Allison Ferguson, Grimshaw Public School (GPS) educator who has been selected as the Alberta School Boards Association (ASBA) Zone 1 Edwin Parr First Year Teacher Award recipient. The ASBA Edwin Parr First Year Teacher Award recognizes first year teachers that demonstrate exemplary dedication and commitment in the field of Education.

Allison was chosen among seven teachers nominated from school divisions located within ASBA Zone 1 by the ASBA Edwin Parr selection committee that consists of Zone 1 school board trustees and a superintendent.

“I am absolutely honoured to be selected for this award” says Allison. “The support and encouragement I have received from the staff at Grimshaw Public school cannot be overstated. Their kindness and expertise helped me through the tough times and helped me grow as a teacher. Peace River School Division has one of the best mentoring programs for new teachers. The learning I experienced and the memories I have with my class will last a lifetime.”

Allison currently teaches a combined grade five/six class and in addition to her teaching assignments supports several clubs and committees that contribute to student learning and community engagement. During Allison’s first year of teaching, she taught a combined grade four/five class, contributed on the school’s Guided Writing and Literacy Professional Learning Communities, started an elementary reading club and worked with the GPS Student Parliament Leadership Team.

Below are some comments shared from students in her classroom during her first year of teaching:

“Somehow she makes math, science and social studies fun” says Bode Milford. “She deserves this award because she’s a fun, loving and awesome teacher.” Grady Robertson shared that “Miss Ferguson helps us work through things that are hard and she really cares for us. She does lots of different activities with us, like turning math questions into little games, and she makes learning fun.” Grady also says “Ms. Ferguson gives off a happy vibe and there is always a good vibe in her classroom.” Fiona Quinney says “She loves and respects everyone, she is funny, and adds fun activities to our subjects.”

When the group of students were asked to share some words to describe Ms. Ferguson, they responded with “amazing, helpful, kind, patient, energetic, beautiful, generous and fun.”

Allison was nominated by Adam Murray, GPS principal during the 2017-2018 school year. Adam describes Allison’s ability to provide engaging instruction as ‘masterful’ and shares that she is a positive and inspiring influence to many. “Her ability to provide engaging instruction that targets multiple learning styles is masterful, especially during her first year of teaching” says Adam. “She is passionate about helping students reach their personal best and she has wonderful relationships with students, staff and parents.  Adam also shared that she is eager to get involved to help plan and volunteer with school initiatives, events, and is commonly seen cheering students on during their sports or various club events outside of school hours.

“On behalf of the Peace River School Division Board of Trustees, we congratulate Allison for this much deserved recognition and thank her for her exceptional contributions to student learning and success” says Board Chair Darren Kuester. “Allison is passionate, caring, and she makes learning fun for students. We are grateful for her dedication and innovation to ensure students of various needs and learning styles are engaged and experience their full potential.”

Each year, school boards in the province nominate an exceptional first year teacher for the Edwin Parr Award and all zone nominees are celebrated within their division at their respective zone ASBA award banquets where one teacher is selected as the zone winner. Zone winners are then celebrated on a provincial level at a special banquet hosted by the ASBA in Edmonton at their Fall General Meeting.